Kim Kelly & Aliya Mustafina.

As much as it pains me to use both of their names in the same breath…

The gymternet’s all-time favorite floor routine:

I asked Aliya Mustafina what she thought about it, and this was her response:

Oh, and this too:

– Posted by Bronwyn

8 responses to “Kim Kelly & Aliya Mustafina.

  • PolyisTCOandbanned

    I came up with it as a sort of “blogosphere” word about two-2.5 years ago. I can’t find the exact post. Probably on Gymnastics Coaching (perhaps at WWGym).

    Do some searches. Maybe your google-fu eclipses mine.

    • Nope, you weren't first

      A domain registration lists gymternet.com before that, but we won’t count that against you–it’s just people combining every possible word stem to make some money.

      You used it January 2009 on GymnasticsCoaching. But someone else said “gymnternet” almost a year before you, in April of 2008… And got props.

      Aw… poor TCO. Always trying to be interesting, but always coming up… banned.

      • PolyisTCOandbanned

        I think there was a group called gym internet, and they got that domain, but didn’t really use the term in discussion. There were some GC posts where I was using it back in 2008, but I can’t find the first one (searches are hard because of the site move or some Google issue, but I found stuff in the fall). You could check WWGym and do a search of the archives, although I don’t remember if I was using it then.

        Not sure about April. I might have been on GC by then, but I think that was before my WWGym rip-through.

        Anyone could come up with it and probably has, but I pretty much remember doing it independently and pushing it and that’s where it spread from. Actually surprised how common it is…kind of cool. I used to put a little hokey tm TCO after it. I thought it was too dorky to catch on.

        It’s no biggie though. I’m probably coming across as very self-centered. I should shut up now. Stopping typing…

  • PolyisTCOandbanned

    I invented the word, Gymternet.

    Lotta commiez on this page. Tsk tsk.

  • Einseika

    Did The Couch Gymnast get ‘exclusive rights’ to your Komova post or something?! Why did you delete it?

Leave a Reply

